St Mary's C of E

Primary School Moston

A loving Christian community, where everyone is valued and successfully achieves their full potential.

Meet our Governors

Welcome to our Governors’ section. 

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.


We meet as a full governing body once a term, and then there is a Finance Committee and a Curriculum Committee, which also meets once or twice a term, and a Pay and Appraisals Committee. Occasionally we will meet in smaller groups for a particular purpose, as needs arise.


We have three core functions:

·         To ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;

·         To hold leaders to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and

·         To oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure its money is well spent.

We all have links with different aspects of the school, and visit as often as we can to get to know how the school is delivering high standards for all the children. 

We have a strategic role to work in partnership with the headteacher and other staff.  We are involved in:

·         setting the school's aims and policies;

·         improving standards of teaching and achievement;

·         setting the school's budget plan and monitoring expenditure;

·         interviewing and appointing teachers and support staff;

·         acting as link between the church, the local community and the school;

·         dealing with complaints about the school;

·         drawing up an action plan after an inspection, and monitoring the success of the plan

If you have any questions, please contact us using the governor email address:

The Governing Body of St. Mary's C of E Primary School

Mrs Samantha WhiteChair of Governors


The Structure of the Governing Body

  Full NameType of GovernorDate AppointedAppointed by:Term of Office endsRegister of Interests
Mrs Samantha WhiteDiocesan01/06/2019Diocese05/12/25None
Mr Jack ScottLocal Authority21/05/24Local Authority21/05/28None
Mrs Joyce RobertsFoundation31/08/20Parochial Church Council31/08/24None
Mr Paul StephensonHeadteacher01/09/22Staff31/08/26None
Mrs Joanne ButlerFoundation31/08/20Parochial Church Council31/08/24None
Mr Nathan MartinFoundation01/12/21Parochial Church Council01/12/25None
Miss Norma BowerbankFoundation31/08/20Parochial Church Council31/08/24None
Mrs Victoria MooresStaff22/03/24Staff22/03/28None
Miss Letitia Grant-BrownParent21/10/21Parents at the School21/10/25None
Rev Pam SmithEx Officio01/06/23Parochial Church Council01/06/23None
Mr Robert HaighAssociate21/05/24Diocese21/05/25None
Mr Peter HighamFoundation01/02/2021Parochial Church Council01/02/25None
Mrs Linda Riddell Associate19/09/2023Governors19/09/27None
Miss Jordanna CampbellParent01/09/23Parents at the School01/09/27None

Committee Structure

NameChair of Committee
Curriculum CommitteeMrs Samantha White
Finance CommitteeMr Peter Higham



Governors with a responsibility

Named Governors:

  • Norma Bowerbank - English
  • Peter Higham – Maths and St Mary’s Church Link
  • Joyce Roberts - SEND (Special Educational Needs and Disabilities) and Pupil Premium Funding
  • Joanne Butler - Child Protection, Safeguarding, and Prevent
  • Samantha White - Worship, SRE (Sex and Relationships Education), RE (Religious Education) and Assessment
  • Nathan Martin - Sports Premium, Community Links
  • Letitia Grant - Music and Equalities
  • Jordanna Campbell - Early Years and Health Education